India Interview Project Process Reflection

It was difficult for me to come up with interview questions at first. I was not able to create good ones until I did my research for the annotated bibliography. Additionally, I started composing this piece with the idea of focusing solely on Kala. However, when I showed up at the Laxmipathy household, Kala was unavailable at first. I ended up conducting an initial interview with Pathy, and then a second interview with both Kala and Pathy.

At first, I could not figure out the central idea of my interview article. After listening through my interview footage multiple times, I then decided that “preserving cultural heritage” should be the central theme. For this project, Kala and Pathy graciously invited me into their home. This project was enlightening for me because I got to learn a lot more about my Indian family; Kala and Pathy were candid, and shared many of their lived experiences with me. From this project, I realized that Kala and Pathy have an extraordinary love for their children. It was also an amazing opportunity for me to learn more about the Indian diasporic experience through the first-hand narrative accounts of two Indian immigrants living in America.

Leave a Reply

